On “screamo” as a genre…

Posted: May 8, 2011 in Editor's Notes
Tags: ,

So, we already know I don’t “do” screamo. For me, music is at LEAST half about the vocals – I want to hear (and understand) the story. I also want to hear the melody weave in and out and through the music. Screamo allows for neither. If was any other kind of vocals and did the same thing, I wouldn’t like it for the same reason(s).

Lest we end on such a negative note, I should mention that I actually like several “screamo” bands in spite of their use of this type of vocal styling, most notably early Linkin Park or Stone Sour/Slipknot.  I listen to the lyrics (which are easily discernable) and they don’t use that solely through the entire song.  If anyone can point me to a successful major-label band/recording artist that uses screamo exclusively I’ll recant.  =)

End of rant.

Comments
  1. adam says:

    well screamo is a genre of “all” screaming. if there’s only a few spots where there is screaming, its not considered screamo. also there is melody woven through and understood lyrics. it just takes someone that likes the music to understand it.

Leave a Reply

